Skip to content

Couscous with Grape Tomatoes and feta

June 12, 2010

We – or rather I – decided it was time we make something not sweet for the blog. I chose this recipe because Max likes couscous and cucumbers, so I was hoping I could get him to eat this in spite of the tomatoes, feta, and garbanzo beans that I figured he would not like.

First we prepared the couscous. Put some water in a pan and bring just to a boil. Add in the couscous,  covering with the water. Then cover the pan and remove from the heat. Leave sitting for 5 to 10 minutes.

While waiting for the couscous, we prepared the veggies. Max opened the can of garbanzo beans and complained about the smell of them (I won’t spoil your appetite by telling you what he compared the smell to). I chopped the grape tomatoes. Max did a great job peeling the cucumber, then I chopped it. We drained and rinsed the garbanzo beans.

Look at the pretty!

Once the couscous is ready, I scooped it out into a large dish. Max measured out the oil, which we stirred into the couscous, then we added the garbanzo beans, tomatoes, and cucumbers. I stirred that all together along with some lemon juice and lime juice. Next, Max measured out the “stinky” feta cheese and poured it into the dish. I stirred it all up, then added some salt and pepper, and some more lemon juice, tasting along the way to try to get it just right.

Mom Thinks: This is not a recipe I’ll make again. This is a lot of couscous. Even though I doubled the tomatoes and increased the feta cheese, it’s still a lot of very bland couscous, so I ended up using all of the juices and quite a bit of salt to get it right.

Max Thinks: The garbanzo beans smell like [censored by mom], and the feta cheese is really stinky. The tomatoes weren’t as bad as I thought they’d be. I like the couscous and cucumbers, but don’t like the texture of the beans. Mom made me have two bites. I’m not eating any more.

Adapted from this recipe at Heidi Swanson’s blog.

Ingredients

2 cups couscous
3 1/2 cups water
1 basket of grape tomatoes
1 cucumber
1 can garbanzo beans
juice from 1 lemon
juice from 1 lime
1/4 cup olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup feta cheese

Instructions

Pour the water in a small saucepan, bring just to a boil. Add in the couscous, cover the pan and remove from the heat. Leave to sit for at least 5 minutes. Then fluff with a fork and pour into a large dish or bowl. Stir in the oil.

Meanwhile, halve the tomatoes, peel and chop the cucumber, and rinse and drain the beans. Stir all of this into the couscous, then pour in some of the lemon and lime juice. Stir in the feta, and add some salt and pepper. Taste, and add more lemon juice, lime juice, and salt to get the flavor you want.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

